Access Keys:

The Drelincourt School, Armagh

History of our school

The Drelincourt School is a Church of Ireland Maintained school founded in 1738 by the widow of Dean Peter Drelincourt.  It was established as a charity school by Madam Drelincourt in the Dean’s memory, and started with 20 boys and 20 girls in a building in Navan Street.  There are many historical records from the early school archived in the historic Robinson Library, including minutes of Governor’s meetings and school accounts several hundred years old.  We are immensely proud of the unique and historic heritage of our ‘little’ school.